First Western Bank & Trust Celebrates 60 Years of Community Banking

2024 proudly marks the 60th anniversary of First Western Bank & Trust and commemorates six decades of commitment to the communities which First Western serves. Established in 1964, First Western has developed into a trusted financial institution with a legacy of service and community involvement.

From its founding, First Western has been driven by the principles established by Mr. J.H. “Jack” Hoeven. These core values are centered on delivering the best in customer service, working hand-in-hand with customers to help them find the best banking solutions for their needs and to give back to the communities they serve with charitable donations, volunteer work, and sponsorships.

“While we celebrate 60 years of banking in 2024, we recognize that our story is defined by the relationships we’ve built within the communities we serve,” says President & CEO Brenda K. Foster. “Our success is a direct result of the trust and support we’ve received from our customers and neighbors.”

First Western Bank & Trust has locations in North Dakota, Minnesota, and South Dakota. Over the years, in addition to banking, First Western has expanded its portfolio to include a trust department, First Western Insurance, and a leasing division known as First Western Equipment Finance.

Today, Mr. Hoeven’s legacy remains alive and well. The bank strives to create a positive and professional work environment, fostering internal growth opportunities for its valued employees. First Western stands as a testament to innovation, consistently seeking to be an industry leader by providing the best products, services, and banking tools.

Looking ahead, First Western Bank & Trust remains dedicated to its founding principles and is committed to serving its customers, employees, and communities with integrity, innovation, and unwavering dedication for many years to come.


First Western Bank & Trust was founded in Minot, North Dakota, in 1964 and now employs over 340 individuals in North Dakota, Minnesota, and South Dakota.